1. Licensing
  2. Membership
  3. Qualifications & Careers
  4. Publications & Resources
  5. Get Involved
  6. News
  1. Licensing
  2. Membership
  3. Qualifications & Careers
  4. Publications & Resources
  5. Get Involved
  6. News


Our President (2019-20): George Clark, Director of Engineering at Transport for London  became the 95th President of the Institution following the Annual General Meeting held on 26 April 2019.

George Clark started work with London Underground as an apprentice and has now amassed over 30 years’ experience of delivering modern train and control system engineering on London’s Underground, including major projects such as the Jubilee Line Extension and leading the delivery of the first moving block ATO signalling on the Jubilee and Northern Lines.

His Transport for London role requires leadership of over 1500 engineers across all disciplines and transport modes. These range from streets to bridges, from roads to rail combating challenges with the 150 year old London Underground network through to the complex road junctions and traffic management of the city. The directorate provide engineering services to meet TfL business needs throughout the asset Life-cycle, underpinning the delivery of such projects as the re-signalling of the sub-surface lines and the new tube trains for the Piccadilly line and continues to support, enhance and modernize our transport systems, retaining a safe and reliable transport network. 

George is the sponsor Director for the TfL engineering graduate schemes and a promoter of apprenticeships across TfL and the UK. 

George's Presidential Address "Delivering Change" is downloadable for all to read. 

IRSE Council

The IRSE Council is the governing body of the Institution. The role of Council and the duties of Council members are defined in the Memorandum of Association & Articles of the Institution, but in summary, they make decisions on behalf of the members, as appropriate, in the running of the Institution, and generally have to ensure that the objectives for which the Institution has been established are progressed in a professional and satisfactory manner.

They are the Trustees of the Institution, which is a Registered Charity in England & Wales, and are also Company Directors, since the Institution is also registered as a UK company limited by guarantee.

Council members are elected by the corporate members of the Institution, i.e. Fellows, Members and Associate Members, for two year terms, and they can stand for election for subsequent terms if they wish to do so, as defined in the Articles referred to above. The results of the election process are announced at the Institution’s Annual General Meeting held in April and are reported in IRSE News.

The Council is supported by a number of principal Committees. Click here to view an explanatory diagram of these Committees.

Call for nominations for Council members 2020 - 2021 is now closed

All corporate members of the IRSE have received nomination forms for Council members for the vacancies arising in April 2020 and the nomination process is now closed.

Council members 2019 - 2020:


George Clark 

Vice Presidents 

Daniel Woodland, Ian Bridges. 

Members of Council from the class of Fellow 

Jane Power, Peter Allan, Rod Muttram, Ian Allison, Pierre‑Damien Jourdan, Steve Boshier, Yuji Hirao, Andy Knight, Bogdan Godziejewski. 

Members of Council from the class of Member 

Rob Burkhardt, Martin Fenner, Ryan Gould, Lynsey Hunter, Cassandra Gash, Paul McSharry. 

Members of Council from the class of Associate Member 

Keith Upton, Xiaolu Rao. 

Co-opted Past Presidents 

Markus Montigel, Peter Symons, Charles Page. 

Chief Executive 

Blane Judd 


Andrew Smith